Nobel Prize 2017

  • -bust_of_alfred_nobel-5372

    Alfred Nobel Photo: © Nobel Media AB 2015. Photo: Pi Frisk

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awards every year in Stockholm on 10 December the Nobel Prize according to the last will and testament of Alfred Nobel.

Every year since 1901 the Nobel Prize has been awarded for achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and for peace (in Oslo, Norway). The Nobel Prize is an international award administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden. In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank established The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize. Each prize consists of a medal, personal diploma, and a cash award.

In his last will and testament, Alfred Nobel specifically designated the institutions responsible for the prizes he wished to be established. Since 1901, the awarding of the Nobel Prizes is based on a system of nominations, handled by these four institutions: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet, the Swedish Academy and the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

On Monday 2 October the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded jointly to Jeffrey C. Hall (USA), Michael Rosbash (USA) and Michael W. Young (USA) "for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm".
Read the Pressrelease

On Tuesday 3 October the Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded with one half to Rainer Weiss, the other half jointly to Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne"for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves". All three are from LIGO/VIRGO Collaboration.
Read the Pressrelease

On Wednesday 4 October the Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to Jacques Dubochet (Switzerland), Joachim Frank (USA) and Richard Henderson (UK) "for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution".
Read the Pressrelease

On Thursday 5 October the Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded to Kazuo Ishiguro (UK) "who, in novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world".

On Friday 6 October the Peace Nobel Prize was awarded by the Norwegian Nobel Committee to the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN). The organization is receiving the award for its work to draw attention to the catastrophic humanitarian consequences of any use of nuclear weapons and for its ground-breaking efforts to achieve a treaty-based prohibition of such weapons.
Read the Pressrelease

On Monday 9 October the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2017 was awarded to Richard H. Thaler (USA) "for his contributions to behavioural economics".
Read the Pressrelease

All the lauerats will receive their Nobel Prizes at a ceremony in Stockholm on Saturday 10 December.