Visa for visiting Sweden

The information on this page is primarily intended for persons residing in the Republic of Indonesia.

On March 25, 2001 Sweden together with the other Nordic countries joined the Schengen Visa agreement. The Schengen visa agreement is valid for the following group of countries:

- Austria - Belgium
- Czech Republic - Denmark
- Estonia - Finland
- France - Germany
- Greece - Hungary
- Iceland - Italy
- Latvia - Lithuania
- Luxemburg - Malta
- The Netherlands - Norway
- Poland - Portugal
- Slovakia - Slovenia
- Spain - Sweden
- Switzerland  

The Schengen Visa, issued by any Embassy or Career Consulate (General) of the above mentioned countries, allows the holder to travel freely within the Schengen countries. However, entry can be refused if not all admission requirements are fulfilled upon entering the Schengen territory.

While requirements for a visa, work and/or residence permit for Sweden are the same wherever an application is made, the processing may vary from one country to another. If you are a resident of a country other than the Republic of Indonesia, please contact your local Embassy of Sweden or Consulate General.

Sweden welcomes visitors and every effort is made to keep formalities to a minimum. However, like all countries, Sweden has conditions for entry that visitors must observe.

Do I need a visa?

If you are a citizen of the Republic of Indonesia holding a valid Indonesian passport you are required to apply for a visa before entering Sweden.

Citizens from the following countries/territories require a visa when entering Sweden, check the list.

How long does it take to get a visa?

Please expect a processing time of 3-5 days. In some cases the waiting period could be longer.

A visa is valid for a maximum stay of 90 days. Please, note that in order to get a visa, your passport must have a validity of at least 3 months after returning from your trip to Sweden and/or other Schengen countries.

Please apply in good time ahead of your planned departure in order to avoid disappointment.

Please note that holders of Schengen visas are still subject to immigration control and are not guaranteed entry into any of the Schengen countries, even though they may hold a valid visa for these countries.


 How do I apply?

The applicant must come to the Embassy of Sweden in person when applying for a Schengen Visa, for interview and on-site photo taking. This rule also applies for those who submit the application online (check this page if you'd like to submit your application electronically before the interview and photo-taking at the Embassy).

Interviews are conducted by appointment and scheduled by calling the Embassy's switchboard +62 21 2553 5900.

The Embassy is open for visa matters from Monday to Friday, between 08.30-11.30.

Please make sure that you have filled out the application form correctly and ready before your interview at the Embassy. Information given in the visa application should be clear and complete.

The visa application form can be obtained at the Embassy and the Swedish Consulates in Denpasar. The form can also be downloaded from this site - please see the information on "What must I submit? Where can I download the application forms?" further down this page.

Please note that the Embassy cannot process your application unless all supporting documents, including medical / travel insurance, are enclosed.

Payment has to be made in advance of applying. Continue scrolling this page down and please see the information on the payment instruction further below.


Where should I apply?

If you intend to visit only one particular Schengen country, you must apply at the Embassy or Career Consulate (General) of that country.

If you intend to visit several Schengen countries you must apply at the Embassy or Career Consulate (General) of the country of your main destination.

If you intend to visit several Schengen countries but do not have a main destination, you should apply for a visa at the Embassy or Career Consulate (General) of the country of your first point of entry.

If you do not need a visa for the particular Schengen country of your main destination or first point of entry, please note that you may require a visa for other Schengen countries you wish to visit. You should then apply at the Embassy or Career Consulate (General) of the first Schengen country you require a visa for.

Do I have to pay a fee?

The EU has decided that all Schengen states – i.e. Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland – are to charge 60 euro for entry visas to from 1 January 2007.
However, certain groups will be exempted entirely or partly from this stipulation. The following will be exempted from paying a fee:

  • children under the age of six years
  • schoolchildren, students in higher education, research students and their accompanying teachers – on condition that the purpose of the trip is studies or education
  • researchers – on condition that the purpose of the trip is scientific research.
  • participants of Sida international training programmes
  • close relatives of citizens of an EU-country, Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein or Switzerland do not have to pay a fee for their visa applications. Relatives of Swedish nationals must, however, pay a fee to apply for a visa.

Citizens of certain countries will pay a reduced fee – 35 euro – thanks to special agreements with the EU. This applies to citizens of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Russia, Moldavia, Montenegro, Serbia and Ukraine.

Children in the age of 6-12 years old will pay a reduce fee of 35 euro.


The visa fee in Indonesian rupiah (IDR) is not a fixed amount, since the amount in IDR is affected by the exchange rates. Please double check with the Embassy first, when you call for scheduling your interview, in order to pay the correct amount.

As of 9 January 2012 the fee for a Schengen Visa is IDR 750 000, which is the rough equivalent of EUR 60.

For children between 6-12 years old, the fee is IDR 435 000 which is the rough equivalent of EUR 35.

The payment of the Schengen visa fee should be made through the Embassy's account in the PT Bank ANZ Indonesia:

PT Bank ANZ Indonesia
ANZ Tower, Jl. Jend Sudirman Kav 33-A
Jakarta 10220 - Indonesia
Account No. : 4033 6001 00012
Beneficiary : Embassy of Sweden

Attach the proof of payment to the application.

What must I submit? Where can I download the application forms?

It depends on the purpose of your visit to Sweden:


Whom do I contact for additional information?

Visa applications for residents in the Republic of Indonesia are handled by the Embassy of Sweden in Jakarta. Please note below address, telephone number and office hours.

Embassy of Sweden in Jakarta
Menara Rajawali, 9th Floor
Jl. Ide Anak Agung Gede Agung Lot # 5.1
Kawasan Mega Kuningan
Jakarta 12950

Phone: (+62-21) 2553 5900
Fax: (+62-21) 576 26 91

Visiting hours/opening hours for visa matters:
Monday – Friday 08.30-11.30

Office hours:
Monday – Thursday 08.00-16.30
Friday 08.30-15.30
(closed during lunch 12.00-13.00)